Mount Carmel Days.

A poem about the memories Mount Carmel gave us.

Oh Mount Carmel!

I didn’t appreciate you enough,

Who would’ve guessed,

life outside would get so rough.

Those afternoons spent on the drive

with girlfriends and gossip.

Those Samosas and Kachoris,

accompanied with the best dip.

Those delicious donuts

the size of my Palm

And the candy that helped me

regain my after-Math calm.

Running to coffee day across the street,

on Noons that were extra blue.

To indulge in chocolate fantasy Cake

or even just to use the loo.

Oh Mount Carmel,

what I would not give up?

To be locked within those gates

and one last time, Sup.

The regular Fests we were

forced to partake in.

And missing the Retreat

was considered a Sin.

Into the auditorium,

sneaking juice and snacks.

Then watching yourself on the screen

cause the camera-guy won’t relax.

I used to feel nauseous,

surrounded by only girls.

But the drama in a co-ed now,

sets my stomach into curls.

Didn’t need to plan a girls night,

to get over that petty boy.

My girls were already with me

cracking jokes, oh such joy!

Oh Mount Carmel!

I didn’t appreciate you enough,

Who would’ve guessed,

life outside would get so rough.

-Mariette L V Robin

Leave a Reply

